Tuck Rule

Intimidated by intense football threads? Don't be... learn about football, the Washington Redskins and more.
User avatar
Posts: 975
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:32 am
Location: Algonquin, IL

Tuck Rule

Postby ATV » Fri Oct 14, 2005 11:10 pm

From the Post tonight:

"Pereira said it has been suggested to him that Plummer should have received an intentional-grounding penalty if the play indeed was an incomplete pass. But, according to Pereira, it wasn't intentional grounding because Plummer lost the ball inadvertently, not intentionally."

Did you hear that? So, if a quarterback is about to get sacked in between the tackles "box" and he doesn't want to get flagged for intional grounding, all he has to do is flub a pass and it won't be considered. Absolutely ridiculous logic.

Skins History Buff
Posts: 5741
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 5:36 pm
Location: New York, NY

Postby welch » Fri Oct 28, 2005 10:58 pm

Incomprehensible. If Plummer "loses" control of the ball it's a tuck, and the ball is marked at the original line of scrimmage?

How does a QB ever fumble, given that rule? Grrrrrr

Return to Football 101